Diversity and Inclusion Task Force


Task Force Roster

Gita Manaktala, Editorial Director, MIT Press, Co-Chair
Larin McLaughlin, Editor in Chief, University of Washington Press, Co-Chair
Ellen C. Bush, Digital Initiatives and Database Director, University of North Carolina Press
Susan Doerr, Assistant Director, Digital Publishing and Operations Director, University of Minnesota Press
Gisela Concepción Fosado, Editor, Duke University Press
Brian Halley, Senior Editor, University of Massachusetts Press
Alexandria Leonard, International Sales Associate, Princeton University Press
Jill Petty, Supervising Editor, Trade Books, Northwestern University Press

Board Liaison
Nicole Mitchell, Washington

Central Office Liaison
Susan Patton


Environmental scan: Gather information and data about the various diversity and inclusion programs and initiatives currently underway or in development at AUP member presses and, if possible, within the broader scholarly publishing community. 

Resources: Identify resources (financial, best practices, toolkits, AUP support, etc.) for initiating new and/or supporting existing diversity and inclusion initiatives and programs among member presses.  Identify possible partners and funding sources, as appropriate.

Future: Produce a final report prior to the Board of Directors meeting on June 15, 2018 that makes specific recommendations for ongoing and new Association diversity and inclusion work as an organizational priority.